Timothy D Shira elected unopposed as Deputy Speaker of Meghalaya Legislative Assembly

March 20, 2023 by MT Bureau

Staff Reporter

Shillong, March 18: Senior NPP leader and Resubelpara legislator Timothy D Shira is all set to be elected unopposed as the Deputy Speaker of the 11th Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.

ALSO READ: Meghalaya teachers submit memorandum to Rakkam A Sangma to upgrade 844 Upper Primary Adhoc Schools

This is because the three opposition parties – Congress, All India Trinamool Congress and Voice of the People Party – have decided not to field any candidate for the post, the election of which will be held on the first day of the Assembly’s budget session on March 20.

Assembly’s Commissioner and Secretary Andrew Simons on Friday informed that Shira was the lone candidate who has filed his nomination for the election to the Deputy Speaker’s post.

His candidature was proposed by Rakkam A Sangma and Marcuise N Marak from the National People’s Party and Lahkmen Rymbui and Mathew Kurbah from the United Democratic Party.

Shira was also holding the post of deputy speaker during the previous term of the Assembly.