NPP emerges as single largest party in Meghalaya

March 4, 2023 by MT Bureau

Staff Reporter

Shillong | March 2, 2023

The National People's Party (NPP) has emerged as the single largest party winning 26 seats in the Assembly polls, the results of which were declared on March 2nd.

Chief Minister and NPP national president, Conrad K Sangma managed to retain the South Tura constituency and the party missed by five seats to reach the halfway mark.

The United Democratic Party (UDP) got 11 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Hill State People's Democratic Party (HSPDP) managed to bag two seats each.

The All India Trinamool Congress that split the Congress in 2021 and took its side as many as 12 MLAs, contested its debut election in Meghalaya this year, but won just five seats.

The Congress had not a single MLA before going the Assembly polls, got five seats but State Congress president and Shillong Lok Sabha MP, Vincent H Pala failed to win from his Sutnga-Saipung constituency.

The People's Democratic Front (PDF) won only two seats, but the new entrant Voice of the People Party (VPP) sprang a surprise by winning 4 seats, including its President, Ardent Miller Basaiawmoit.

Meghalaya went to the polls on February 27, with 85.51% of the electorates exercised their franchise.

The performance of the NPP in this election is a major boost for Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma, as he could win more seats from Garo Hills a clear indication that people reposed their faith in his leadership.