meghalaya news

Newly-elected legislators' oath ceremony held

March 7, 2023 by MT Bureau

Staff Reporter

Shillong, March 6: All the 59 newly-elected legislators of the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly today took an oath before the Pro-tem Speaker Timothy D Shira.

Seven-two-year-old Shira is the oldest member of the House while 26-year-old Damanbait Lamare (Umroi) is the youngest.

Chief Minister designates Conrad Sangma took oath for the second time as legislator of South Tura.

Former chief minister Mukul Sangma, who was re-elected for the seventh time Mukul Sangma also took oath as a member from Songsak, after winning from the constituency for the second time.

President of the United Democratic Party Metbah Lyngdoh also took oath for the fourth time as Mairang legislator.

Former cabinet minister Ampareen Lyngdoh, Ampati legislator Miani D Shira and Sutnga Saipung legislator Santa Mary Shylla were the only three women representatives in the 59-member House.

Prestone Tynsong, Sniawbhalang Dhar, Comingone Ymbon were among the leaders of the ruling National People’s Party (NPP) who took an oath of office and secrecy during the session.

The two BJP leaders – AL Hek and Sanbor Shullai were also among those taking the oath.

Two HSPDP legislators - Shakliar Warjri (Mawthadraishan) and Methodius Dkhar (Mawshynrut) were also among the new faces to take oath.