Mukroh is in Meghalaya, CM Conrad Sangma asserts

March 22, 2023 by MT Bureau

Staff Reporter

Shillong, March 21: Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma today reiterated that Mukroh is very much within Meghalaya even as he added that his government is committed to resolving the remaining six areas of difference with Assam.

ALSO READ: 'Centre should send Governors who can speak the language' says Meghalaya Cabinet Minister Ampareen Lyngdoh

Replying to a supplementary question raised by opposition VPP legislator from North Shillong Adelbert Nongrum, Sangma said that as per the census code, Mukroh is under the jurisdiction of the West Jaintia Hills District.

His statement also came days after the Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma had informed the Assam Assembly that Mukroh falls within the boundary of his state.

He said that the government has also set up polling stations in Mukroh in the recently concluded Assembly elections besides fair price shops, lower primary schools, health sub-centres and others.

The Chief Minister informed that as on March 17, over 502 job cards were issued in Mukroh for the benefit of the residents.

"(Therefore) our stand is very clear that Mukroh is very much in Meghalaya," he stated.

Whether the government has filed an FIR against the killing of five innocent lives by the Assam police on November, last year, the chief minister said a case has been registered with the Nartiang police station.

He however said that the matter is subjudice as an investigation by a commission of inquiry is still on.

To a query raised by the UDP legislator from Mokaiaw Nujorki Sungoh regarding the actions taken on the demand to immediately remove the forest check gate at Mukroh, the Chief Minister however said, "We are not able to take up this entire matter as shifting of the gate is also within the mandate of the inquiry commission. An inquiry by the commission is going on right now. Therefore, let the investigation be completed."

Earlier, VPP chief and Nongkrem legislator Ardent Miller Basaiawmoit expressed concern about the safety and security of the people living along the border and said there is a constant fear in their minds and wondered if it was due to the "soft approach" of the state government that has to embolden the counterparts to the extent of claiming that Mukroh falls under their jurisdiction.

Replying to this, Chief Minister said in the past 50 years, it was witnessed that there have been incidents taking place in the border areas and 'this definitely stems from the border issue and the differences that we have and the fact that border resolution has not been reached'.

He said that due to this, tensions have been built up from both sides and finally lead to different incidents.

"That is why the MDA-I government was keen to resolve the border issue that is why we are firmed and (signed) the MoU. Therefore, we are working towards ensuring that we move forward and are able to resolve the remaining six areas of difference," Sangma assured.

On the assurance from the government over the safety and security of the people to avoid another firing incident, the Chief Minister said there is a need to strengthen the state forces to build up the confidence of the people.

"Therefore, we have gone ahead to sanction new outposts, and enhance the manpower," Sangma said while asserting the importance of communication and coordination with the counterparts to maintain peace and tranquillity at the border.

Further, the chief minister has informed that along the inter-state border, the government has created 7 new border outposts.

In addition to the existing police stations and outposts, new police stations and police outposts in close proximity to the interstate border of Assam have also been created.

Deputy Commissioners of the bordering district having areas of difference are in regular touch with their counterpart DCs from Assam.

He said a standard operating procedure (SOP) has also been issued to the Superintendents of Police regarding measures to maintain peace and tranquillity in the areas of difference along the inter-state border.

Regional Committees headed by cabinet ministers have been formed for resolving the remaining six areas of difference.