LIVE UPDATES: Meghalaya Assembly Election Results 2023

March 2, 2023 by MT Bureau

Shillong | March 2, 2023

The assembly elections in Meghalaya for 59 seats took place on February 28, 2023, while polling in one constituency was adjourned due to the death of a candidate. The counting of votes has commenced on March 2 from 8 am onwards. The Chief Electoral Officer of Meghalaya, F R Kharkongor had earlier stated that over 85% of the state's 21.6 lakh voters exercised their franchise during this year's elections.

The Congress and BJP contested in 59 seats, while the NPP put up nominees in 56 constituencies, the TMC in 57, and the United Democratic Party (UDP) in 46.The high turnout during the elections reflects the people's interest and enthusiasm in the democratic process. The CEO's office had previously reported that over 75% of the voting took place till 5 PM, with voting continuing for several more hours after it was supposed to conclude at 4 pm. Counting for the 59 constituencies will be held at 13 centers across the state.

Follow LIVE UPDATES here

04:13 pm:

The overall vote count as follows

NPP leads with 25 seats followed by UDP with 11 seats, INC and AITC with 5 seats, VPP with 4, BJP 3 and HSPDP, PDF and Independent with 2 each.

02:49 pm:

Lahkmen Rymbui retains Amlarem by a margin of 57 votes.

02.32 pm:

People accord warm welcome to NPP Chief Conrad K Sangma after NPP's victorious innings in 25 seats.


02.28 pm:

BJP's Sanbor Shullai reacts after winning South Shillong for the 4th term.

NPP Chief Conrad K Sangma's 1st reaction after poll results.

2.00 pm:

Mukul Sangma loses Tikrikilla

01.39 pm:

Results for 59/59 seats known for Meghalaya. NPP leads in 26 seats followed by UDP and VPP among others.

01.13 pm:

NPP's Conrad K Sangma continues to lead in South Tura Constituency with 49% votes as per latest ECI updates.

12.59 pm:

BJP's AL Hek and Sanbor Shullai retain Pynthorumkhrah and South Shillong Constituencies.

NPP's Snaiwbhalang Dhar wins Nartiang constituency.

NPP continues to maintain overall lead in Meghalaya.

12.50 pm:

NPP's Marthon J Sangma wins Mendipathar constituency.

NPP's James Sangma loses to Rupa M Marak of AITC by a very close margin.

12.13 pm:

NPP's Dr. Mazel Ampareen Lyngdoh emerge victorious

11.55 am:

Conrad Sangma's NPP seen to be emerging as single largest party in Meghalaya as per Election Result Trends.

11:27 am:

BJP candidate AL Hek leading in Pynthorumkhrah Constituency followed by INC candidate PN Syiem, VPP, NPP and other.

11.15 am:

VPP candidate from Mawlai, Brightstarwell Marbaniang exudes confidence after Round 2 election verdict.

11.04 am:

JUST IN-- NPP leads in 20 seats, followed by UDP in 7, INC in 6, BJP in 6, AITC in 5 and VPP in 4.

10.50 am:

Voice of the People Party (VPP) supporters rejoice as the party leads in various constituencies for Meghalaya Legislative Assembly Elections. VPP is currently seen to be leading in Mawlai, Nongkrem, Mylliem and Mawphlang.

10.33 am:

NPP's Conrad Sangma, the current Chief Minister of Meghalaya and BJP's Bernard N Marak neck to neck with 2672 and 2628 respectively.


10.28 am:

Round 1 poll results: (major constituencies)

South Tura: NPP's Conrad Sangma and BJP's Bernard N Marak neck to neck with 2672 and 2628 respectively
Amlarem: Lahkmen Rymbui (UDP)
Dadenggre: Rupa M Marak (AITC) surpasses James Sangma (NPP)
Jowai: Wailadmiki Shylla (NPP)
Khliehriat: Kyrmen Shylla (UDP)
Mawhati: Shemphang Lyngdoh (NPP)
Mawlai: Brightstarwell Marbaniang (VPP)
Nongthymmai: Charles Pyngrope (AITC)
Ranikor: Pius Marwein (UDP)
Resubelpara: Timothy D Shira (NPP)

more updates incoming...

10.10 am:

Latest trends as per ECI website

09.30 am:

Just In-- Latest trends:
VPP leading in Mawphlang
INC leading in Mairang,
HSPDP leading in Mawthadraishan
AITC leading in Kharkutta, Rongara Siju
NPP leading in Resubelpara and Bajengdoba
GNC leading in Chokpot

more updates incoming...

09.00 am-- Just in: scenes from the counting locations in Meghalaya outside the strong rooms.

08.20 am-- Counting of votes began at 13 centres across Meghalaya today. The district magistrate of Eastern West Khasi Hills district has imposed Section 144  on Thursday. At 8 AM, under heavy security, the counting of votes for 59 of the 60 members of the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly began across various districts.

As per reports, Conrad Sangma, the current chief minister of Meghalaya and the leader of the NPP, visited Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma, the chief minister of Assam, on Tuesday night in Guwahati ahead of the couting day. NPP sources informed that bot the Chief Ministers participated in a key meeting that lasted 30 minutes in a hotel in Guwahati.

08:10 am-- All eyes on counting of votes. 24 CAPF companies have been retained for ensuring 24*7 safe counting of votes at the strongrooms, containing polled EVMs of 3419 polling stations across the State of Meghalaya, as informed by Meghalaya CEO F.R Kharkongor. The CAPF personnel will be stationed till March 4, 2023, for keeping a check on post poll occurrences. Post counting, 5 polling stations will be selected at random and manual counting of 5 randomly selected EVMs will take place as per ECI rules. On the other hand, massive traffic arrangements have also been made for the day across various districts of Meghalaya.